At Least it’s Friday

December 11, 2009 § 4 Comments

This morning, after hitting the snooze button twice, and therefore making myself late, I woke up and got dressed.  Then I went to work.  Traffic was really bad on the 25 this morning for no apparent reason other than people like to drive really close to one another.  When I got into work I felt something scratching my neck.  At first I thought it was my necklace chain (which was really hard to get on, by the way.  why is looking in the mirror while trying to put on a necklace so hard?  everything is backwards.  annoying!)  But it wasn’t that.  It was my shirt.  I had put it on backwards (I blame the mirror) and the tag was scratching the front of my neck.  Nice.  I considered going to the bathroom to turn it around but I am wearing another shirt on top of it, since the bottom one is a tank top, and that just seemed like a lot of work so I did not.  I just wore it like that all day.

In the morning one of the other ladies in the office came by with sheets of paper for us to make snowflakes to decorate the office.  That was entertaining, but I got sad when I went to put up my snowflakes and everyone else’s were way more awesome than mine.  Bummer.  But mine do have a certain little charm to them, I suppose.

After work I checked my phone for the first time all day, which was odd, I guess I forgot about it.  Anyway I looked and there were three text messages.  I was about to look at them when the phone rang and it was Matt, all sleepy and hungry and cranky that I had not returned any of his messages.  He is so hard to talk to when he is just waking up, especially on the phone.  All he does is making grunting noises and I have no idea what he wants.   Frustrating.  I finally got it out of him that he wanted me to come over.

He was still in bed when I got there and all the lights were out.  I like a lot of light all the time.  I’d even sleep with all the lights on if it wasn’t a totally ridiculous waste of energy.  Matt is the total opposite.  He likes complete darkness, which bothers me because I can’t see anything.  So I sat there in the dark for a while waiting for him to wake up.  He eventually did and we went to the kitchen where his parents had made dinner.  Normally we’d go out on a Friday night but I’m trying to work on being a little bit healthier and eating at home more often, plus they offered.  It was a good dinner and we ended up just sitting around watching tv and playing with the dogs a little bit.

Then his parents gave me an early Christmas present!  I was really surprised.  I didn’t even realize it was for me until his dad shoved the box in my face and showed me my name on the tag.  Here is what they gave me.

Isn’t that nice?  I totally wasn’t expecting it at all.  Matt and I had been looking at it on the internet and then took a look at the real deal one night while we were shopping at WalMart (evil store but whatever) and I really like it.  It has a digital timer or you can set it to a certain temperature that is then determined by the little temperature probe thingy and once it hits that temp, it automatically shuts off and goes to warm.  Cool, huh?  There are also handles and a clip on lid for easy transport.  Anyway, it’s awesome and I really appreciated them giving it to me.

Before Matt left for work and I had to go we watched a really cool video about China.  It was the first part of a 6 part series and this part was on rural Southwestern China.  It looks really, really cool there.  It’s full of amazing limestone formations and really neat caves.  I had also never seen a rice paddy before.  Those are really something.  The way the whole village gets together to plant them, and the short time it takes to finish (they can do it all in about a couple  hours), is really impressive.  What’s really cool is how they decide when to plant.  Every spring, swallows (which are believed to be good luck) return to their nest in the village.  The begginging of planting season is based on when the swallows return.

When I got home this evening, someone was parked in my parking spot.  This annoyed me, since I pay for that parking spot.  So I wrote them a note and took their license plate number and wrote another note to the office.  I hope that wasn’t too crankypants of me to do (especially considering the ridiculous Michigan hate notes I got when living in Vegas) but oh well.  On the positive side, I did get a closer parking spot, it just doesn’t have a cover on it.

And that’s what happened to me today.  Some good, some crappy stuff.  But I’m definitely ready for the weekend to be here.

§ 4 Responses to At Least it’s Friday

  • Chloe says:

    First to comment!! 😀
    I think after all, you had a good day… 🙂 At least, it was better than mine! haha
    My mother-in-law has that same thing your in-laws gave you for Christmas (I don’t know its name… sorry). And she uses it all the time! It’s her best friend. 🙂

  • samm says:

    Karsts are cool. On my list of places to go if money were no object.

  • carma says:

    I was at the “evil Walmart” this week too. People may diss it – but when you are in a hurry – it’s all there in one spot and for the best price….I’m more concerned about the evil parking space snatcher!! 😉

    nice gift!

  • Jessica says:

    I think I want one… I’ll sell Tim on the whole “digital” part

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading At Least it’s Friday at A chronicle of my world travels.

meta

