Just Some Stuff

December 3, 2009 § 6 Comments

The flowers Matt gave me, though they have lasted a surprisingly long time, are slowly fading.  I’m glad I at least have pictures.

I am currently planning a gift list of my own, which I wrote on my dry erase board in the kitchen.  I’m posting it here because I am fairly certain that none of my family members read or even know about this blog.  The only person’s gift I kept a secret was Matt’s, but he took the liberty to write down some suggestions.

Personally I think he’s a very lucky boy because I have been cooking dinner for him all week.  I’ve been experimenting with new recipes.  The other night I tried one that I got on a flier in the mail.  And let me tell you it was TERRIBLE.  It even smelled bad.  I don’t really understand why.  It looked really good in the picture.  It was this chicken corbread blue cheese salad thing.  Matt didn’t like it.  I didn’t like it.  Very disappointing.  I didn’t want to waste all the food I bought to make it so I’ve been eating it for lunch at work and it still isn’t any better.  Actually it might even be worse since it’s cold.  Pity.

The next thing I made was better.  It involved chopping up a lot of veggies.  They looked pretty, though.

The recipe didn’t call for meat but I added some anyway, because my man is definitely not a vegetarian.  And neither am I, for that matter.  There was supposed to be rice in it too but I forgot it until everything else was almost done.  Oops.

I also made a lemon cake.  It’s really good.  And Matt’s favorite of everything I made (too bad it was the easiest thing to make).  We put whipped cream on it.  I wish I had some fresh berries but they’ve gone up in price quite a bit since the warmer months.  I might end up getting some anyway, though.

Tonight I tried Mexican pizza.  It was ok.  I think I let the dough rise for too long.  This morning before work I took one of these out of the freezer.

And I came home to this.

Yeah, maybe just a little too much rising action there.

In other news, the mountains got a lot of snow.  They looked really cool this afternoon.

That’s the view from my apartment.  I like living here, even if it is about 11 degrees right now and my nose is going like a marathon runner.

Tagged: , ,

§ 6 Responses to Just Some Stuff

  • Chloe says:

    Beautiful flowers!! 🙂
    Oh, I’ve never heard about Mexican pizza!! How is it?
    I’m terrified of Christmas… because I’m going to be in charge of the food… and I’m hopeless. I’m going to prepare some Italian food and a cake… Wish me luck!

  • Pam says:

    I hate when I make a recipe and it’s bad because I, like you, don’t like to waste the food. Especially on a grad student budget. I’m empathizing with you this week because while I have made good meals, i’ve been so stressed (from my econ final) and tired (from not getting enough sleep for many reasons) that I cooked good food and then never properly stored it. Which meant that I had to either get rid of it or eat it after sitting on my counter for 24 hours. I decided that until my semester is over my food is going to be fresh fruits and veggies, mostly, because I can remember to put those away immediately instead of waiting for them to cool down.

  • Yes, autumn chicken, lasted me through 4 nights of horrible dinners because I couldn’t bear to throw out the terribleness that was this dish.
    Great idea for a wish list! You know, this is the week for them on the Spin Cycle, it totally fits. You want in?

  • Chloe says:

    WOW! I didn’t know Mexican pizzas existed! haha Thanks for your explanation!
    No, there isn’t Taco Bell here. In Spain you’ll find McDonalds, Burger King, Domino’s pizza, Sloppy Joe’s and Pizza Hut. That’s all. 😦

  • dmwright says:

    That dough is hilarious! I give you props anyways because I do not cook at all! Hubby does all of that!!

  • Rachel says:

    Nice flowers!

    Haha, that picture of the risen dough made me laugh out loud!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Just Some Stuff at A chronicle of my world travels.

meta

