A Barrel Full of Crackers

November 23, 2009 § 8 Comments

Ohh, you guys, I absolutely loooove Cracker Barrel.  I love the food.  I love the cute little store.  I love that no matter where you are they always look exactly the same.  My family and I used to go there all the time when they drove me back and forth from college for holidays and summers.  So imagine my happiness when I discovered that there was a Cracker Barrel right here in Albuquerque!  Sadly, Matt did not feel the same way.  He looked at the website and decided that the pictures did not look very good so he didn’t want to go there.  I guess the portions looked small to him or something (his reasoning: why pay $8 for one plate of food when you can go to a buffet and pay the same amount for as much as you want).  Whatever.  So we never went there.  Until tonight.

Today was Matt’s younger sister’s 22nd birthday, and, since she’s in town for Thanksgiving, she decided she wanted to go to Cracker Barrel for her birthday dinner with her family.   Around 5 pm, Matt called me and said “We’re going to your favorite place for Sharon’s birthday dinner if you want to come.”

“What’s my favorite place?” I say.   The answer: Cracker Barrel.  YAY!

After Matt got out of class, he came over and picked me up and we headed over to the restaurant to meet up with the rest of his family.  It took everyone a really long time to figure out what we wanted so the waiter had to come back like 3 times.  And when he finally took our order, he seemed to get totally overwhelmed with all the stuff we were asking for.  Hey, it’s not our fault your dinners come with 3 sides each plus biscuits/cornbread (which is totally awesome, by the way).  And there were only 5 of us so I don’t see how it could be that hard.  But oh well.

I ordered raspberry iced tea and Matt kept drinking it so when the waiter came to see if we needed refills, I ordered him one of his own.  He ended up really enjoying the food so perhaps his opinion of The Cracker Barrel has changed.  I didn’t get to talk to him much afterward, though, because he had to go to work straight from there.  Sad 😦

But before he left, I was able to teach him the Cracker Barrel game.  My parents actually own one of these games and I think my brother has it figured out.  Unfortunately, Matt and I do not.  I think we were able to get down to three pegs on our last try.

darn you, cracker barrel game!

(Image from here.  Where a computer program used to solve the game is dicussed. Yeah, a computer program.)

Sharon also opened her presents during dinner.  She got a TomTom, which she was very excited about, a few things from her German host family, and a German textbook.  She really likes Germany and all things German and has been over there a bunch of times.

Since Matt had to go to work, I got a ride home with his family.  Sharon programmed the TomTom in German and it told us where to go, although I had no idea what it said.  If it was in Spanish, or maybe even French, I might have understood it better.  My own personal TomTom is British.  His name is Timothy and he tells me to take the motorway.  This always amuses me.  He is fabulous.  Especially since I am terribly terribly directionally challenged.

So I had a good night.  And now just two more days of work and then THANKSGIVING!

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to A Barrel Full of Crackers

  • Breeza says:

    I LOVE Cracker Barrel. I haven’t been there for years. We used to stop there when I traveled back and forth to law school. I miss their bread–so jealous!

  • Camille says:

    We are Garmin people ourselves, and our GPS is British, too. She rocks.

    I am not a huge fan of Cracker Barrel, but only because I had an awful date there and thinking of it makes me want to vomit. Oy. I should get over that.

  • Chloe says:

    Hmm, I’ve never heard of Cracker Barrel… But if I ever go to the States, I think I’ll go there!
    I’m glad you had such a great time with Matt and his family! 🙂
    Oh, and happy Thanksgiving!

  • maureenlynn says:

    I like Garmin too. And Trimble. I am an equal opportunity GPS-er.

    If I were visiting the United States, I probably wouldn’t pick Cracker Barrel as the first place to go. It’s good, but not THAT good.

  • Cracker Barrel IS good. I just wish they didn’t use so much butter and lard or I would be going there more often than just cheat days.
    Sprite loves those games and I have some pictures of her trying to teach John how to play!

  • Chloe says:

    Oh, okay! Thanks for the advice! 🙂

  • Cracker Barrel is wonderful. I am so sad there isn’t one closer than a 7 hour drive from our house. I can taste the spicy grilled catfish and okra right now. It is driving me mad.

    That peg game is fun. A waiter once told our kids how to solve it using a baseball metaphor. Run the bases, this is home plate, that sort of thing. I wish I could remember it.

    You know, if you love Cracker Barrel, you should just tell Matt you are going there some time. To deprive you of a CB fix seems like abusive behavior to me. 🙂

  • maureenlynn says:

    Haha, I think I could probably convince him to go again sometime. And when I go next I’ll definitely still be trying to figure out that game.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Barrel Full of Crackers at A chronicle of my world travels.

meta

