The World Outside, Before it Got Icky

November 15, 2009 § 5 Comments

Winter has arrived in New Mexico and it is cold and sad outside.  This most likely means another outdoor adventure will not be happening anytime soon.  Boo.

However!  Before Albuquerque went to total yucksville, I was able to take one last nice-day walk during my lunchtime at work.  I love my walks.  They make me feel like I am still part of the real world and not living in a closed box of oppression (aka my cubicle).

My absolute favorite place to go for lunch during the work week is a little coffee shop on Central (That’s Route 66 to you non-Albuquerqueans) called The Daily Grind.  Their lunch menu is somewhat limited, basically just sandwiches, soup and salad, but they change up their soup and sandwich specials every day so there’s always the opportunity to get something new.  The food is reasonably priced and the portions are large enough to eat half and save the rest for the next day (bonus!) This past week I got their sandwich special, which was chicken salad.  It also came with a side salad and fresh fruit.

CIMG4886

Another nice thing about The Daily Grind is when the weather is nice I can sit outside and read The Alibi (which is available there, and other places, for free) while I’m waiting for my food.  Sadly, I don’t get to read much because the service is really quick (but that’s ok!)  Plus, their back patio is really pretty.

CIMG4885

Really, the only thing I don’t like about them is that they don’t accept credit cards, so if I forget to go to the ATM, I’m stuck going to The Grove (overcrowded, overpriced, stale old fruit) or The Standard Diner (overpriced, slow as heck service).

After lunch I like to go out the back way and take a walk through the neighborhood.

CIMG4887

It’s a really nice neighborhood.  A little older and not quite as New Mexico/Southwestern-ish as the rest of Albuquerque.  There are lots of deciduous trees, which remind me of Michigan.

CIMG4889

I absolutely adore this house.  It’s painted my two favorite colors and I just think it’s so cute!

CIMG4888

And though I’ll miss it now that it’s cold out, a nice walk around town on a pretty day full of fall leaves was just what I needed before winter.

CIMG4890

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to The World Outside, Before it Got Icky

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The World Outside, Before it Got Icky at A chronicle of my world travels.

meta

