A Day off and the Domestic Diva

October 14, 2009 § 6 Comments

You know what I love?  Random government holidays.  Like Columbus Day.  Which was Monday.  And I had the day off.  It was fantastical.  I woke up in the morning to the sun shining, birds singing, golden harps playing, hot shirtless men doing all my chores…

Ok, so those last things didn’t actually happen.  But I did have the day off and it was grand.  I pretty much sat around and did nothing all day besides watch a bunch of mindless television, like the Tyra Banks show, which was about prostitutes and men having a “cheating gene” (which I don’t buy at all, btw).

Somewhere in between episodes of Friends and That 70s show, I managed to bake a cake.  Just for you!  Ok, not really for you.  For me.  And Matt (who shamelessly insisted suggested that I bake a cake for my week out of the field).  But I will give you the recipe.  And pictures.  Will that make up for it?  I think so.

Oh and the best part about this cake is it is healthy!  (supposedly)  I got it out of my cookbook, called Lighter, Quicker, Better.

CIMG4833

Here’s all the ingredients you will need

CIMG4828

3/4 cup all-purpose flower, spooned lightly into measuring cup

1/4 cup cornstarch

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/8 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup Dutch-process unsweetened cocoa powder (as you can see, I used Hershey’s, works for me!)

1/3 cup lukewarm water

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1/2 cup firmly packed light or dark brown sugar

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1 large egg, at room temperature (if very cold, briefly run the egg, in the shell, under hot water)

1/2 cup lowfat or nonfat yogurt

1.  Heat the oven to 350 degrees F, with a rack slightly lower than center level.  Spray an 8-inch square or round baking pan with nonstick cooking spray.  Lightly dust the pan with flour, tapping out excess.  Set the pan aside.

You'd think I'd be good at this after watching my mom doing it like a zillion times... oh well

You'd think I'd be good at this after watching my mom doing it like a zillion times... oh well

2.  Sift the flour, cornstarch, baking soda and salt onto a sheet of wax paper; set aside.

I do not understand this sifting business.  I just sort of mixed everything together and dumped it on there.

I do not understand this sifting business. I just sort of mixed everything together and dumped it on there.

3.  Add the cocoa to the lukewarm water in a measuring cup; stir with a fork or whisk until a smooth paste forms; set aside.

Warning: Does not taste as good as it smells

Warning: Does not taste as good as it smells

4.  Place the oil and vanilla in an electric mixer.  Begin to mix at medium speed, gradually adding the brown and granulated suars, and scraping the sides of the bowl once or twice.  Add the egg and beat for about one minute, or until the mixture is smooth.

This is a lot easier to do if you don't let your brown sugar dry out and become a solid sugary brick.  The egg helped, though.

This is a lot easier to do if you don't let your brown sugar dry out and become a solid sugary brick. The egg helped, though.

Lower the mixer speed slightly.  Add the flour mixture alternately with the yogurt, beginning and ending with the flour, and mixing only until the ingredients are partially blended.  Turn off the machine and finish mixing with a large rubber spatula just until there are no more visible traces of flour ( I forgot about this part, it seemed to work out ok anyway).  Scrape the batter into the prepared pan.

The book screws up at this point and totally forgets to mention adding the chocolate. I added it because a chocolate cake without chocolate is just very very sad.

The book screws up at this point and totally forgets to mention adding the chocolate. I added it because a chocolate cake without chocolate is just very very sad.

5.  Bake the cake for about 25 minutes, or until the top springs back when pressed gently with a fingertip, and a toothpick inserted in the center emerges clean.  Cool the cake, in the pan, on a wire rack (or a stove?).  Serve cut in pieces, directly from the pan.

yummers!

yummers!

The End.

Tagged:

§ 6 Responses to A Day off and the Domestic Diva

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Day off and the Domestic Diva at A chronicle of my world travels.

meta

