Weekending in ABQ

October 12, 2009 § 3 Comments

Remember how I said October is an awesome month to be in Albuquerque?  Well, here’s a couple more reasons why…

This past Friday Matt and I took a road trip to a neighboring town, Moriarty, to go to the haunted barn and corn maze at McCall’s Pumpkin Patch.

mccalls

This is not just any haunted house.  It is not like the other ones in town that are supposedly “the scariest haunted houses in the nation.”  Yeah, right.  They’re nothing compared to this.  This place is HANDS DOWN, the absolute coolest haunted house EVER.  There are flashing lights and spinning rooms and scary clowns and polka-dots and chickens and things that spray at you and dead body bags and formaldehyde and chainsaws.  And there is a CORN MAZE.  And it is HAUNTED.  What more could you possibly want?

It was a really great night.  The worst part was that we had to hurry a little bit through it because Matt had to get to work.  Another bad part was that I drove, which meant I was criticized the entire way there.  I wasn’t going fast enough.  I was going too fast.  I have no hand-eye coordination.  Etc. Etc.  This is why I don’t like driving with other people in the car.  Passenger seat drivers.  They make me tons more nervous than I would be if I were by myself.  Matt said that I could get a job at the haunted house as the haunted taxi driver.  People would be afraid, wondering if they would ever make it out alive.  Ha ha ha.

But anyway, other than that it was good.  A little more expensive than the other lame-o haunted houses in town, but totally worth it.

On Saturday, my class was canceled!  Yay!  Unfortunately, I had to drive all the way over there to find this out.  Boo!

I was supposed to go over to Matt’s house after class so I decided to let him sleep for a while and went over there when my class would normally be over.  He was a pain to wake up, as usual, but eventually he did.  We went in the backyard and played with the dogs for a while and then went out to eat at an Italian restaurant called Scarpas because he had a coupon for a free dessert with the purchase of two entrees.  The pizzas we had were delicious, but then, for dessert, the waiter brought this out…

Scarpas05

Torta di Mele: caramelized apples and cinnamon ice cream topped with mocha-flavored shavings and whipped cream inside a fresh baked pastry covered in the most delicious caramel.  Yum!

After eating that, I was content for the rest of the night.


**Note: any time I put in pictures that are not taken by me, I link them to the website where they came from.  If you want to learn more, click on the pictures.  Ok, thanks.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Weekending in ABQ

  • Chloe says:

    That haunted house looks great!! And that dessert… yummy!!
    I’m glad you had a great weekend!!

  • Whoa. That dessert. Um. Yeah. I would be willing to fly again for that dessert.

  • Between this dessert and the chocolate cake you baked in the following post, I’m having trouble not reaching for my daughter’s Halloween candy stash. 🙂

    Thanks for visiting my blog today! I’m looking forward to sharing your blog with my daughter. She’s a science girl too. And New Mexico is a beautiful state. So we’ll be back, Maureen!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Weekending in ABQ at A chronicle of my world travels.

meta

