Crafty McCrafterson

October 9, 2009 § 3 Comments

This is a painting my sister made for her art class.

CIMG4811

And these are some recent drawings I made for my physical geography class.

cold and warm fronts

cold and warm fronts

hydrologic cycle

hydrologic cycle

As you can see, it’s not too hard to tell which one is the more artistic member of the family.  In fact, my own mother once laughed, yes LAUGHED, at one of my drawings and told me not to quit my day job. Thanks, Mom.

But my lack of artistic ability is not going to stop me from being crafty.  I may not be able to draw or make a decent looking bowl on the pottery wheel, but I am pretty darn awesome at layouts.  I credit this to my years of experience with latenight newspaper layouts during college.  And in grad school, I could make a poster or powerpoint presentation like nobody’s business.

About a year or so ago, I took up scrapbooking.  And I love it!  In the beginning, I was afraid that I’d make one page and get tired of it, but I really wanted to stick with it, so I have.  It’s a lot of fun creating something and seeing it all come together in the end.  Plus I can watch tv while I’m working on it.  (A lot of times I don’t, though.  I’m just too excited about the scrapbooking!)

The most fun thing about it though is creating a memory of fun or interesting times I’ve had.  I can look at my scrapbook pages and reminisce about the “good old days” while admiring my artwork.  It’s really rewarding to remember what I’ve been through to get where I am today.

This is one of the earlier pages I made showing Vegas life, where I lived and worked and some fun things I did.  I also put in my Michigan hate note that I got on my car at school one day.  At first I was kind of mad about it, but now when I look at it, I just think it’s funny.  I mean, seriously, who writes that?  (Just to warn you, there is some swearing in it)

CIMG4821

I’ve also been documenting some of my more recent work adventures, like my trips to Arizona… (also here and here)

CIMG4818

CIMG4819

… and Nebraska

CIMG4816

Most recently, though, I have been working on a new scrapbooking project.  Last Thursday, October 1, was Matt’s and my one year anniversary of our first date.  So I decided to start a book for just the two of us.  The funny thing is, Matt really loves that I love scrapbooking.  I think he likes that I have something that I really enjoy doing, like he has his airplanes.  So of course he was really happy with his little anniversary “present.”

CIMG4810

Oh yeah, Tooty & Cakes are our nicknames for each other.  We’re dorks 🙂

For this scrapbook project, I decided to try something new.  Looking around the internets for scrapbooking ideas, I tend to see a lot of layouts with just one central picture surrounded by decorations.  That’s what I attempted to do here.  I think it worked out all right but it still seems a little too minimalist for me, which is not necessarily a bad thing, but in the future I think I’d like to work on finding a better balance between too little and too much on a page.

But for now, I’m happy with what I’ve done and can’t wait to get started on my next project, whatever it may be.

**This post was written in conjunction with the Spin Cycle, brough to you by Sprite’s Keeper.  Click here to find some more crafty posts!

Tagged: , ,

§ 3 Responses to Crafty McCrafterson

  • I cannot do scrapbooking. It just takes it all out of me. My sister can scrapbook with the best of them and makes some lovely layouts. I think your layouts are beautiful! (Could do without the hate note and you’re right. Who writes like that anyway?)
    You’re linked!

  • Chloe says:

    I think your scrapbook project is great!! Love your layouts!! It’s perfect!! 😀

  • Pam says:

    I started scrapbooking about 5 or 6 years ago, when my mom made me go through the boxes of stuff of mine that SHE saved from elementary, middle, and high school. And I have that book all made up and finished and pretty. I started a college one and was working in reverse – so I have senior year done, and most of the summer between junior and senior done; but haven’t had the motivation or desire to do anything since. And the last time I did anything was about 3 or 4 years ago. I just can’t find the drive.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Crafty McCrafterson at A chronicle of my world travels.

meta

