Back to School! Back to School!

September 13, 2009 § 2 Comments

“It’s too damn hot for a penguin to be just walkin’ around. I gotta send you back to the South Pole.”

Okay, so I’m not exactly Billy Madison.

And I definitely don’t see a giant penguin.

But I am going back to school.  I’ve been considering doing it for a while and since I’ve been here over a year now, I decided it was time to take the plunge.  What I would like to do is become GIS certified, not only so that I will be able to include it on my resume in the future, but also because it is a really good skill set to have for my current job.  This semester, I am taking physical geography.  In a way, it’s kind of a pain because I’m still in field season until mid October- possibly early November (who knows…) so the only day I have time to take it is Saturday.  This severely cuts down on the time that Matt and I get to spend together, and definitely means no spontaneous trips to our favorite restaurant in Santa Fe, which isn’t open on Sundays.  Bummer.  But the class isn’t hard at all, and I enjoy it.

Next semester should be a little easier since it’s not field season.  I’m thinking of taking cartography and maybe something else.  Not sure what.  It would be fun to be able to take a class with Matt sometime.  (He’s getting a GIS degree)

It’s kinda funny because today I have work to do for my job and also work to do for school, and honestly, I’d prefer to do the school work.  Although, I suppose right now I am doing neither, but that is beside the point.  I really enjoyed spending this past week at home and am getting overwhelmed thinking about going back to the field tomorrow.  I like field work, but sometimes I think it would be nice to be closer to home more often.  To get things done around the house, spend more time with Matt, actually use the swimming pool when it’s open, etc.

But for know, I guess the only thing I can do is get some homework done.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Back to School! Back to School!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Back to School! Back to School! at A chronicle of my world travels.

meta

