Extreme Makeover: My Apartment Edition

August 16, 2009 § 2 Comments

One of the hardest things about spending a good part of 6 months out of the year away from home is that things start to get a little messy.  Okay, a lot messy.  It’s just that in the process of going out and camping (in between doing hard physical labor, mind you) for most of the week, coming home and dumping stuff wherever it falls before proceeding to pass out for a large portion of the weekend seems like a really good option at the time.  Well, it is, until you realize a mound of crap ranging from clothes to camping gear to dirty dishes is piled up in your home with no visible way of escaping.  This can be very overwhelming.  Add in a critical boyfriend (I’m not criticizing you, I’m just giving advice, he says) and you come to the realization that something must be done.

So I’m doing something about it.  In small doses.  And to motivate myself I’m taking before and after pictures to remind me of how things used to look and that I never want them to look that way again.  This week, I tackled the kitchen, and I think it turned out pretty well.  Here’s a look at how things went.

I have this little window-type thing in between my kitchen and living room.  The first time I saw this setup in a friend’s house, I decided I must have one, and was totally stoked when my apartment of choice came with it.  It’s super chic, and I love it.  Problem is, it doesn’t look so cool when you pile a bunch of random stuff on it.

Take, for example, Exhibit A:

CIMG4504

But with a little time and effort, it can look fabulous once more.

CIMG4520

Next I went to work on the counters.  This picture is not really all that bad but what you don’t see is all the sticky scum actually stuck on to the counter.  It was pretty darn gross.

CIMG4505

I cleaned that up, as well as the sink.  With bleach.  (Die little bacteria, die!)

CIMG4521

But the two things that Matt complains the most about are the floor and the stove.  Here’s why.

CIMG4512

CIMG4513

But he’s happy now because they currently look like this.

CIMG4522

CIMG4523

And there ya have it.  A nice, clean kitchen.  The only thing I didn’t take on was the refrigerator, but Matt helped me out with that a couple weeks ago, so it shouldn’t be too bad.

I still have to prepare some food for camp this week.  It will be a good experiment to see if I can keep things clean even when I’m using the kitchen to make food.

Until next time, have a happy week!

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Extreme Makeover: My Apartment Edition

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Extreme Makeover: My Apartment Edition at A chronicle of my world travels.

meta

