Getting Back to Basics

July 24, 2009 § 1 Comment

This week, I drew pictures at work.

Ok, I drew map lines on aerial photos.  It was actually a really good thing to do, though.  Sure I got frustrated and annoyed, and yeah, maybe I got distracted and stared out the window for a while, but it allowed me to take a step back, look at the bigger picture.

I spent some time doing the same with respect to my relationship this week as well.  Last week at this time, I was really really mad at Matt.  He was being a jerk, I was being a pissed off jerk, and when he left for work that evening we were still angry with each other.  After he left, I went to walk it off, and the peace and quiet did manage to calm me down a little bit.  When I got back I had 3 text messages on my phone, abounding with apologies and promises to do better.  Later he told me that he was worried when I didn’t respond right away, but he felt better when I explained that I was on a walk and didn’t take my phone with me.  Now, a week later, I’m not even sure I remember exactly what I was mad at him for in the first place.

It was really great to be able to spend more time with him this week, something I don’t normally get to do during field season.  But this week was special.  I made reservations to go to dinner on Tuesday at a nice Italian restaurant that I had bought some half price gift certificates for a while back (this was before Matt bought the ones to the French restaurant; Also, I was going to bring my camera but he wouldn’t let me).  That evening the monsoons kicked into high gear and it poured and poured.  Albuquerque has a fairly decent drainage system but the way the roads are set up is not very conducive to massive downpours, so it took Matt an hour just to get to my house.  When he got there, he was all wet, but I was happy because he was dressed nicely in a dark blue polo shirt and khaki pants.  I gave him a hug and his shirt was soft.  Wet, but soft.  I liked it.

He came in all excited because water was rushing down the arroyos (ABQ’s drainage system, as mentioned above) and he wanted to show me.  So we went outside (it had mostly stopped raining by this point; our monsoons are intense but short) and looked down at the water in the arroyos.  It was pretty full of sediment, and reminded me of the chocolate river in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.  We stood there and watched the water moving for a while.  The air smelled fresh and clean.

We went to dinner after that and it was a-maz-ing.  We both got the ribeye steak, thinking it would be just a little amount.  No.  It was a huge piece of meat, cooked perfectly, and oh so delicious.  It came with risotto and some of the yummiest asparagus I’ve ever had.  After dinner, we stood outside in the cool rain (it started again) and listened to the jazz band playing in the bar.  It was a really great night.

We got to spend Wednesday together too, to go to the Tool concert, which was also loads of fun, but I’ll save that part for later.

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Getting Back to Basics

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Getting Back to Basics at A chronicle of my world travels.

meta

