A Year in the Life

July 7, 2009 § 2 Comments

One year ago today I officially started my new job in Albuquerque.  It seems so weird that it’s been a year already.  Time has gone by so fast.  So many things have changed this year.  I’m a real scientist, getting a paycheck for doing what I’ve wanted to do since college, and I’m starting to form an idea of what I want to do with my career in the future.  I really would like to get into geology research.  It will take some time and extra planning efforts on my part but I know that if it’s something I really want, I’ll make it happen.  I have so far, and it really has worked out incredibly well for me.  I met a wonderful person who cares about me very much, and I’ve met some nice new people at work as well.  (If only they lived a little closer, as in the same city/state as me, it would be better)

But right now I’m not at work.  I’m on vacation!  I am in an exotic place called Michigan, visiting my family.  We spent the weekend at our cottage on the lake, boating and kayaking, eating and watching fireworks.  In a way, it’s like I’ve come full circle doing exactly what I was doing a year ago.

I don’t have all that much more to say about it.  It’s just really good to be home for a little while, away from the week-to-week, day-to-day, packing, waking up at 6, hiking and digging for 10-11 hours, collapsing, unpacking, starting all over again.  Not that I hate it, or even dislike it.  It’s just really really good to have a vacation.  Everyone needs one of those.

Here’s some photographic highlights of what I’ve been doing so far.  If you have never been to Michigan, it’s actually a pretty nice place.

my sister and me, boating and blue moon

my sister and me, boating and blue moon

CIMG4339

The best restaurant in Ann Arbor

The best restaurant in Ann Arbor

dinner! (at aforementioned restaurant)

dinner! (at aforementioned restaurant)

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to A Year in the Life

  • Camille says:

    I’m glad you got to go home for a while. For me, home is a very healing place. I miss it sometimes.

  • Looks like you had a great 4th!
    Home is exactly where I am, but HOME is about 2 hours away. Whenever we head there to see family, I wish we didn’t have to leave. Then we get home and I never want to leave there either.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Year in the Life at A chronicle of my world travels.

meta

