HASAY: Because I haven’t done it in a while

May 10, 2009 § 9 Comments

Since announcing my intent to work out more and be more healthy, I have come to the sad realization that many of my clothes do not really fit me anymore.  And, unlike some of the other blogs that I read, I do not have a baby as an excuse.  (Trust me, it’s not.  If it was, Matt, myself, and my mom (and possibly my boss) would all have a simultaneous panic attack)  It’s all fat. Plain and simple.

So I’m really trying to take this fitness thing more seriously, and my work has graciously decided to help out, with this handy dandy pedometer.

CIMG4272

They handed one out to everyone in our office who wanted it.  And began an eight-week-long competition between the employees to see who can get the most steps.  The winner gets some sort of prize (I’m not sure what) and everyone who participates gets a shiny new eco-friendly metal water bottle (which is awesome because I dropped mine in the parking lot and it broke).  There is also a challenge competition between the different staffs.  And I want to WIN!  Usually, I’m not much of a winner.  It’s true.  I just don’t really win much of anything.  But I’m really going to try this time.  So far I have done okay.  But I really need to step it up in the upcoming weeks if I even want to have a chance.

Yesterday and today I walked to the grocery store (yes, I went two days in a row), despite the fact that it was pretty hot out (I’m still in a bit of a shock going from cold Nebraska to hot Albuquerque within the span of several hours) and despite the fact that someone in a car thought it would be hilarious to throw a tissue box out the window.  AT MY FACE.  Who does that?

Anyway, so I walked to Albertson’s (where they’re still doing that Monopoly thing probably because no one has won yet, or at least I haven’t – again with the not winning) and forced myself to only buy healthy foods.  No chips, no cookies, no chocolate or otherwise overprocessed goods.  Only fruits and veggies and healthy whole wheat bread and skim milk and nonfat yogurt.  And no cheese.  I’m only getting Laughing Cow cheese from now on – it’s healthy, you can get it at Albertson’s and Sam’s Club (and the other cheese I got at Sam’s, because it really shouldn’t go to waste…) And I’m going to start making smoothies.  With my new blender, and with my own healthy ingredients.  (I will probably still add sugar, but it’s organic, so it’s okay, right?)

So that’s what’s going on with that.  And now I am off to figure out what I want for dinner.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 9 Responses to HASAY: Because I haven’t done it in a while

  • Keely says:

    My toddler throws things at people’s faces all the time, but I’m like, 99% sure that wasn’t him driving the car.

    Step it up, yo! 😉

  • Casey says:

    Wow, I’ve never had things hurled at me from a moving vehicle but it sounds like someone was trying to motivate you to get moving. Did it work?

    I’ll have to look into that cheese… we have Albertsons and Sams Club here so I should be able to find it.

    Good luck this week! The pedometer sounds like a good idea.

  • beth says:

    Walking to the store is great, just go fast!

  • gigidiaz says:

    I think it’s great that you’re eating healthier. I’m actually trying to do the same thing though it’s hard cause I’m out of the house all day until 9 or 10pp. I refuse to cook anything that late. Refuse.

    Winning tips: Take a walk every day. Around the block, to the lake (if you have a lake) or wherever.

    Cheating tips: put it on your dog while you sleep!

  • Andrea says:

    Well congrats for wanting to win! If it motivates you to keep going that’s great. It’s hard to keep going and skip all the fun foods that are out there. I was very bad this week. Here’s to a successful week for us both!

  • Jenni says:

    eating healthier is a really good way to start. particularly if you are super lazy, like me, and aren’t willing to go out in the middle of the week for snacks and things and don’t want to exercise. like at all.

  • Gabby Ayala says:

    Hello, I am the manager of Ten Thousand Villages in Lincoln, NE, and I had just noticed your comment on the Licorice International blog about an ‘annoying guy who followed you around the store the whole time you were in there.’ I was wondering if you’d mind emailing me with more information about that. Do you remember his name? Do you know what he looked like? I don’t EVER want anyone to be annoyed while they are in the store. We want people to feel comfortable and welcome, while still being able to tell the stories of the thousands of artisans from around the world who make our products. Thank you for your comment, and please take the time to email me with more info on the incident!

  • chloe86 says:

    BAHAHAHA!
    When I read “pedometer” I couldn’t stop laughing! “pedo” in Spanish means “fart”! So a “pedometer” could be used to measure the pressure or the duration of, you know, farts!

  • maureenlynn says:

    Haha, I didn’t learn that one in Spanish class!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading HASAY: Because I haven’t done it in a while at A chronicle of my world travels.

meta

