Flying to a New Place, Underneath the Sun

May 9, 2009 § 1 Comment

These past two weeks I was in the absolute best place in the U.S., possibly in the world.

Can you guess where it is?

I flew from Albuquerque…

CIMG4130

To Denver… (Fabulous, isn’t it?)

CIMG4134

…To Lincoln, Nebraska!

CIMG4136

What?  You don’t believe me?  That is not the best place in the world?

With the cows?

CIMG4150

And the tall grass prairies?

CIMG4143

Okay, maybe you’re right.  But it was actually a lot better than I was expecting.  I went with a group of new soil scientists for basic soil survey training.  In other words, I learned how to make soil maps.  (I’ll explain that more, probably later in a different post)  We stayed downtown near the university in a place called the Haymarket.

The Haymarket

The Haymarket

There was quite a bit to do there.  There’s lots of different restaurants and bars all over the place.  And every Saturday morning there’s a Farmer’s Market.  I went this past Saturday morning, and I loved it.  There were booths set up with products from all the local vendors, and there was dancing.  It looked like East Indian to me.

Note that these are not the most attractive women.  I think that was the point.

Note that these are not the most attractive women. I think that was the point.

I wandered around for a bit, bought some things and then met up with some people from my group to go to the Natural History Museum.

CIMG4165

The Natural History Museum is on the UNL campus, which is gorgeous. The landscaping was done really well; with the trees and flowers and old buildings you can’t even tell you’re in downtown Lincoln.  It’s like its own little world. As for the museum itself, I was pretty impressed for it being university affiliated.  The one in ABQ is still nicer, but it’s also not with the university.  This one had three floors with a lot of really neat things like a description of the local wildlife, bones and skeletons from dinosaurs and some prehistoric mammals,

And turtles!

And turtles!

several rooms dedicated to archaeology from different parts of the world,

Miniature gold chair, from Africa, I think.

Miniature gold chair, from Africa, I think.

This knife, when thrown horizontally, can cut off a man's leg at 20 meters!

This knife, when thrown horizontally, can cut off a man's leg at 20 meters!

a pretty nice collection of rocks and minerals,

Olivine, one of my favorite minerals

Olivine, one of my favorite minerals

and lots of stuff to keep the kids (and me!) entertained.

flufferflies!

flufferflies!

This tree stump was HUGE

This tree stump was HUGE

Plus a whole bunch on Darwin.  They’re kinda obsessed with him, actually.  It was also astronomy day, so I picked up a couple star charts and entered a contest to win a telescope.

After the museum, we walked through campus to the student union, which I was also impressed with.  It was really nice, and very accommodating to the students.  The food court had about 5 different restaurants and a really nice seating arrangement (much better than UNLV).  There were a couple convenience stores, a huge bookstore, and the main door opened up to a very pretty fountain and a nice, large common area.

Then we moved on to do some shopping downtown.  We went to the Russian store, which was interesting, but I couldn’t read any of the writing.  And to the Nebraska store.  It had lots of little gifts and things from Nebraska.  I bought some jelly for my mom and a magnet for me.  Nextdoor was the licorice store so I got a bag of black licorice for my dad.  I think he likes black licorice.  Hopefully he does.

Sunday we toured the state capitol building, which was very beautiful.  I’m not sure I’ve ever been in a state capitol building before, so I don’t have anything to compare it to but I liked what I saw.  The tour guide was in a hurry and talked waaay too fast so it was difficult to actually learn much about the building’s history, but I think I picked up a few interesting bits of information.

Labors of the Heart

Labors of the Heart

Mother Earth, with Opportunity at her feet (please pardon Opportunity's promiscuity)

Mother Earth, with Opportunity at her feet (please pardon Opportunity's promiscuity)

Up on the 14th floor

Up on the 14th floor

outside the building

outside the building

We also went to see a movie, The Ghosts of Girlfriends Past, because sometimes girls like to see girly movies.  And had Chicago-style pizza for dinner.  All in all, a good weekend in the lovely (though sometimes kinda cold) Midwest.

As usual, I have a lot more to say but will save it for a later time.  Ta ta for now.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Flying to a New Place, Underneath the Sun

  • Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in Lincoln. I agree–the Haymarket is a great place to hang out. Licorice International is a must-see destination for visitors to Lincoln, especially Licorice Lovers!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Flying to a New Place, Underneath the Sun at A chronicle of my world travels.

meta

