Just Thursday

April 16, 2009 § 4 Comments

When I was younger, I always thought Thursday was the best day.  I’m not sure why.  It’s just… Thursday.

Anyhoo, my Thursday work consisted of map editing and it must have fried my brain because Thursday after work was pretty much a complete waste.  I’m working on a little arts&crafts project with lanterns but I have to buy some lanterns first.  I ended up going to three stores, wandering around aimlessly talking to my brother on the phone.  And I finally found some good ones on sale at Target but when I went to pay for them, the sale price did not come up so I argued with the store people for a while with me saying that was the regular price and them saying no that is the sale price, so I said I didn’t want them anymore and then as soon as I said that I changed my mind but I didn’t want to look dumb saying I wanted them again so I just left and decided to go back and buy them later.

Then I came back and wandered around the internets for a while until I found this little quizzy thing that I am going to post now.  It involves answering the following questions, and then looking up the answers on urbandictionary.com (after doing so, my computer went berzerk and told me it had a million viruses, so do this at your own risk, but I am a risky person, what can I say?  (Not really)).  A lot of the definitions have drug references, which amuses me, but I hope I don’t get in any trouble for posting them here.  Oh well.  Another risk.

What is your name: Maureen

Female name usually given to someone Irish or an Irish wanna-be. Most Maureens are smart, stubborn and memorable. A Maureen will leave you exhausted for days. You won’t forget your first Maureen, ever.

What is your age: 26 (almost)

A lot of booze.  750ml of alcohol.  Pronounced “two-six” not twenty-six

Something you should be doing right now: dishes

The most vile and unacceptable chore known to all people still living at home with their parents

Favorite Color: purple

Extremely potent marijuana, specifically marijuana buds that have a purple hue to them.  Also accompanied by a fragrant, usually fruity smell and mad perma-grin

riiigght…

Where you were born:  Ann Arbor

“I am from Ann Arbor, Michigan. I know what the Deuce is. If you don’t, don’t bother asking. I know more names for marijuana than you have friends, and every possible way to use it. I’ve done them all, and made up my own. Everything is a potential drinking game, and if you can’t see that, you sure aren’t from the same place as me. You wanna play flipcup? Beirut? Quarters? Dice? You wanna get your ass beat? Bring it on. No, I can’t dance, no I don’t care. You think the enemies of Pioneers are Indians? Think again, they’re River Rats. Welcome to the Big House, where we bleed MAIZE and blue, not blue and GOLD, like every other college in the country. I know you know our fight song. Don’t even bother trying to drive your car dowtown. You can’t figure out the one-ways or parallel park. And we know you’re out-of-town because your car isn’t covered in bumperstickers. Yes, it’s HAAHT in here, and yes, I’m taking a VAAHDKA SHAAAHT right now. At least I’m taking more than you. And what the hell is SODA? It will ALWAYS be POP.There is only one Ann Arbor, and kids from the Deuce are simply a different breed.”

Month you were born in: April

The 4th month of the year.  In which national marijuana day is celebrated on the 20th.  Is Avril in French.

Incidentally, I was born on the day after marijuana day

Last person you texted: Matt

ancient Greek translation for “eternal sex god.”  It is believed that anyone who holds this name has a great level of skill and ability to perform sexual acts for long periods of time.  Men possessing this name are also well endowed.

HAHAHAHA

One of your nicknames: Mo

Method of Operation (the way you do the things)

Random word: bunbury

To Bunbury or go bunburying is to have a made up excuse to get out of doing something boring.  From Oscar Wilde’s “The Importance of Being Earnest,” where Jack creates a sick friend by the name of Bunbury to escape the boring countryside.

And that’s it.  Oh!  Fitness update!  I did not work out on Wednesday because it was Matt’s day off and we went to Sam’s to go grocery shopping and eat pizza.  I think grocery shopping maybe counts as a semi-workout though.  Sam’s is a very big place.  And the pizza had vegetables on it.  Today I did the treadmill and weights for half an hour each while watching The Office and 30 Rock.  So I win!

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Just Thursday

  • Camille says:

    That’s funny! I’m tempted to try it, but I’m sort of scared…

  • chloe86 says:

    Ha, ha! Camille is always the first to post here! 😀
    And I’m the second!!!! Ho, ho!
    That “quiz” is very funny! but I’m not a risky person… 😉

  • Off-Black says:

    Hi!
    Firstly, thanks for taking the time to comment on my blog, and second thanks for linking me here.

    If your boyfriend is interested I’ve just put up a bunch more plane pictures from an airshow I went to over Easter. Don’t worry if you’re not that into planes, its not compulsory! My wife isn’t particularly enamoured of the things either, but we get along just fine!

    As to the geology, I don’t post about it much, but growing up and living where I do (Wellington, New Zealand), its hard not to be at least aware if not fully cognisant of how the land was formed, in our local case through a combination of glaciation and fault activity (mostly the latter). My house is on a ridge above a long fault scarp, in a set of hills that are heavily eroded former seabed. There are several places around here where the results of faulting activity are plainly visible and in your face. While only an amateur who did a couple of papers on the subject, I like how the land tells you what its been doing and where its going if you know how to read it.

    Cheers,
    SH

  • Pam says:

    Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Just Thursday at A chronicle of my world travels.

meta

