Six months and still rockin’

April 2, 2009 § 5 Comments

Yesterday was Matt’s and my six month anniversary.  And what better way to celebrate half a year of being together than with a screaming hardcore rock concert?

The Sno Core tour opened here in Albuquerque last night, and we were there to witness the insanity firsthand.  Now what is the Sno Core tour, you may ask?  That is a good question, and one that I didn’t know myself until just recently.  You could click on the picture (which is also a link to where it came from) and find out or you could just take my word that it’s a tour that this year is featuring Static-X, one of the most screamiest bands I know of.  And what exactly would possess me to go to such an event?  Honestly, I’m not really sure.  My appearance and personality do not exactly come out and say Hi I’m a hardcore rocker chick. All I know is Matt came over to watch NOVA (which was really good this week by the way.  it was about the recent -geologically speaking- mammalian extinction, and they actually found some pretty amazing stuff.  if you haven’t already, you should check it out) and he said let’s go to this concert and I said, yes let’s go, because I have never been to a real concert before (unless you count Bebo Norman and Jars of Clay – bonus points if you know who they are 🙂 , so we went.

And you know what?  I had a fabulous time!  The concert started out with a band called The Flood.  Their music wasn’t bad, but I don’t think I’m really a fan of their style.  It was a little too…emo for me.  The lead singer seemed kinda weird.  In a way he sort of reminded me of the evil villain on a Disney cartoon.  But the bass player… oh man, he was hot!  I told this to Matt, and he said that he was trying to be, but no, he was not trying.  He was hot.  After they finished a lot of people booed, which made me feel bad for them, so I cheered.

The second band, Burn Halo, was better.  The bass and guitar player looked like little kids, but wow, was that little guitar player good.  I was impressed.

After they were done, we waited and people watched for a while and the guy I was standing next to started hitting on me.  Even Matt noticed.  It was funny.  Was it not obvious that the guy I came in with was my boyfriend?  Apparently not.

And finally, we got to see Static X.  I don’t know what it is, but there’s definitely something exciting about seeing someone famous who you’ve heard on the radio or seen on music videos in person, in the same room as you,  even if they’re still kind of far away.  And I got to see them.  Crazy hair, Beardy, Asian Dude and The Drummer (that is what I decided to call them last night).  And they put on an awesome show.  The main singer (Crazy Hair – I think he actually calls himself  Static somethingorother) is a real good screamer.  I was wondering if his throat hurt after he sang like that and I think it probably did because he sounded pretty hoarse when he talked.  But they were cool, and really liked the Albuquerque crowd, and took shots in between songs (brought out to them by a scantily clad, insanely thin girl with pigtails and ridiculous tall, hot pink fuzzy boots).

We had a great view.  We stood up on the top tier of the balcony, where the bar was, and could see everything.  I got a couple pictures of the band with my phone but it’s hard to tell how they turned out.  It was also fun watching the crowd surfing going on down on the floor below.  The security guards had to stand up there and intercept people all night.  Haha.  It looked like they were having a pretty good time themselves, though.

All in all, I thought it was a really good concert.  Matt said the sound quality could have been better, but he knows about stuff like that, and I don’t.  So it seemed good to me.  In any case, I thought it was a perfect way to spend our night together.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Six months and still rockin’

  • Camille says:

    Hardcore rock isn’t really my “thing,” but I do like to go to concerts (well, I’ve gone to a few, anyway, and enjoyed them). Glad you had fun!

  • Jordan says:

    Hey, thanks for stopping by my blog! You must’ve read a lot to figure out that I teach a weather and climate lab (or maybe not and I’m just forgetting about something on my blog?)
    But yes, I’m getting a masters in geography but focusing on climate. We share the building with geologists, so I see “your kind of people” all the time 🙂

  • chloe86 says:

    Wow! I cannot believe you like rock! haha! I’ve never been to a concert… But it sounds cool!
    I’m glad you had a great time!:D

  • I’ve never been a fan of hard rock, but John loves it. I HAVE actually been to a concert which was held at a very big bar in South Florida and had a better time watching the audience than the band. My ears were ringing for DAYS.
    Great Spin!
    You’re linked!

  • Pseudo says:

    Going through Sprite’s spins today got me here twice. You would be without hard core rock concerts if you lived over here. We get few concerts of any caliber.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Six months and still rockin’ at A chronicle of my world travels.

meta

