The Sugary Smell of Springtime

February 24, 2009 § 3 Comments

I don’t know about everywhere else in the world, but spring has sprung in Albuquerque, New Mexico.  Spring is my absolute favorite-est season.  Summer is fun and winter can be pretty, and F. Scott Fitzgerald said there’s something magical about the fall, but I looooove spring. 

For me, it started on Sunday evening.  I was ridiculously happy, giddy even.  Matt was in the kitchen calmly making dinner and I was bouncing around like a silly schoolgirl talking excitedly about how I was doing really well on the Albertson’s Monopoly game.  (I probably won’t win, but it’s fun to dream anyway) 

I think it was something in the air (or possibly something to do with the vodka I was drinking, but we’ll disregard that for now) because the birds were all excited too.  Matt and I went outside on the balcony to look at the mountains and just talk.  And I just felt really good, and really excited about the future, of my career (which I haven’t really been feeling much excitement about lately) and my life with Matt.

The only thing that made me sad was that Matt was not completely sharing in my happiness.  Our relationship is really good, and he constantly tells me how amazing and beautiful I am, and how I’m so different from his last girlfriend (who was apparently not a very nice person).  But I know he wishes things were better in other aspects of his life.  I won’t go into details because it’s not my business to talk about it, but everyone knows that the economy is not so great right now.  It’s been hard for him, and hard for me because I don’t really know how to help him other than to be there supporting him in whatever he decides to do. 

He tells me that’s all I really can do.  He says, “just be a good girlfriend, like you have been all along.”  So I guess that’s what I’ll do.  In any case, I received a text from him last night indicating things might be looking up, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to The Sugary Smell of Springtime

  • archiveslives says:

    Spring in Arizona is incredible. It’s not all flowery like in Oregon, but it’s still beautiful. When the citrus trees are in bloom, it’s like heaven on earth.

    I miss it.

  • maureenlynn says:

    I will be in Arizona next week. I’ll say hi to it for ya!

  • Carol says:

    We had frost this morning and heavy rain this afternoon in Michigan. My daffodils are trying to come up, and I think they are crazy.

    I hope the economy improves in many places!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Sugary Smell of Springtime at A chronicle of my world travels.

meta

