When I’m not working

September 27, 2008 § Leave a comment

Ok.   I’ve complained written a lot about work lately so I decided to switch it up and write about some of the other stuff I’ve done since moving to Albuquerque.  And I’ve actually done quite a lot of stuff.  So far I have: hiked in the Sandia Mountains, went salsa dancing, played lazer tag, biked to the zoo, stomped grapes with my feet, “camped” with a bunch of UNM grad students, and drank beer for leukemia.

And tonight was the “hot singles party” at the Hyatt.  I wasn’t going to go but then I figured what the hey, maybe I’ll meet a hot guy.  Yeah.  Not so much.  Turns out the only guys who are attracted to me are (1) creepy old men (2) sleazy Mexicans (3) odd Africans (as in from Africa, the continent, and usually strage – take, for example, Joseph).  Oh and also the random guys who whistle at me when I walk down the street.  What is up with that anyway?  Do they think by whistling at me they will somehow convince me to chase down their vehicle and do them right there on Broadway Blvd?  I don’t get it.  I was telling this to some of my co-workers the other day and Jack was like, “that never happens to me.”  Haha.  Jack is hilarious.  He’s got this really calm, dry sense of humor.  That’s what I need.  A guy like Jack.  Hmm, where can I find one of those? 

But anyway back to creepy old men.  I briefly met a guy who apparently knows my friend Kathy (most likely from meetup) and as I was about to leave he started talking to me and trying to convince me to go back with him to his hotel room.  So I try to make it clear that I have a cab coming and am going home now.  Then his friend comes over and they want me to go with them to some club.  Again I say thanks but no thanks (twice because that’s how many times he tried to ask me).  And finally he asks if he can get my number.  By this time I just flat out say no, you are too old for me, and I am really not interested.  sorry.  But I will probably see him around again, woohoo.

Actually I saw a guy at the party that I am almost positive that I went out with maybe about 2 months ago.  So I told him he looked really familiar but he didn’t remember me I guess, probably because guys have an attention span of about 5 seconds.  That’s it.  I’m giving up on men.  I don’t need them.  I am a successful, independent woman, and men are just silly.  The end.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading When I’m not working at A chronicle of my world travels.

meta

