Queen of the Highway

August 29, 2008 § 1 Comment

I absolutely love this song by Bat For Lashes.  The song and video are supposed to be about the relationship between her life as a performer and as a “normal person.”  But I think much of it resonates well with anyone who has to travel a lot, for their career or otherwise.

This week was the last of traveling to the Valles Caldera this field season.  I’m not all that sad about it.  It will still be there next year.  Next week I will be going down to Luna, which is somewhere south of here, out in the boonies of New Mexico.  I am not terribly excited about driving 4 hours (both ways) with my boss.  Two and a half already felt like an eternity.  Or coming back from the field on Friday instead of Thursday.  I therefore plan on enjoying the long weekend immensely. 

I feel like I complain a lot about work on here.  I really do like my job.  It’s what I wanted to do and I love being outside.  There’s just SO MUCH field work.  I wish there was more of a balance.  When I was first interviewed for the position, I was told that the field season went from May-August.  But after a couple weeks of working, I found out that it actually goes through November.  That’s a really long time to be out and away from home, working 10-11 hour days, for most of the week.  I can do this for a while, but I don’t think I want to make my entire career out of it.  There will be a point when I will want to move up and move on, and at that point, I’m sure I’ll look back on these days longingly.  The grass is always greener…

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to Queen of the Highway

  • Meg says:

    It sounds like you’re really busy working, but it sounds like you’re having fun. Have you gotten the new backpack at last?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Queen of the Highway at A chronicle of my world travels.

meta

