Plight of the Navigator

August 15, 2008 § Leave a comment

My boss had to go somewhere this week so Dan and I had to wing it in the Caldera ourselves.  Which meant that I, being the superior, had to know and decide what to do.  Now, anyone who knows me knows that I can barely find a place much less decide what to do when I get there.  Dan, who later described me as a “hesitant” driver, was tired from driving 15 hours from California that morning.  So I drove.  And I got lost.  But yay!  We finally made it!  Like 3 hours later.

So.  Armed with a list of sites, a topo map, many aerial photos, and a GPS, we set out to find some good spots.  Some places we had been to and others we hadn’t.  And since we had been to a lot of places, what with my impeccable sense of direction, I could not remember for the life of me where any of them were.  In the end, we managed to find three good (I think) sites to dig soil pits and describe the trees and do some other stuff at.  Despite steep hills, rain, and a couple wrong turns, things went pretty smoothly those first couple days. 

Then, we came to the last day, which consisted of a mile hike (uphill, with backpacks and shovels) and digging in the most evillest clay ever.  Dan broke it up with the sharp shooter because it is too heavy for me, and I was supposed to dig.  The first horizon wasn’t too bad.  Nice, soft granular soil.  The most annoying thing was OCD Dan over there in the peanut gallery: “You’re holding the shovel wrong.”  “Breathe in through your nose.”  “Stop stepping on the soil, you’re compacting it.”  Blah blah blah.  Seriously.  But I suppose I wasn’t perfect either.  I whined, complained, did a horrible job at digging.  Especially when we got to the clay.  We ended up not being able to dig it out, so Dan broke it up into pieces and I picked them up and threw them out. 

All in all, I think it went well.  We got some stuff done and I think Dan and I bonded.  He taught me some interesting things about Spanish and flies and I made stupid comments that made him laugh.  He did some funny things too, like drive off the side of the road multiple times to pick up flowers for his girlfriend.  He was looking for a mariposa lily, which is very pretty, but he never did find one.  It was cute.  I wish I had a boy who looked for flowers for me.  Maybe some day.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Plight of the Navigator at A chronicle of my world travels.

meta

