Albuquerque Part 1:Living in New Mexico

July 3, 2008 § 1 Comment

So.  New Mexico.  The (so called) third world state.  Interesting place.  Adobe pueblos, drug shoes on powerlines, prairie dogs, and crazy old men… Yep, that about sums it up.  Just kidding.  It’s not bad.  The mountains are…amazing, and practically in my backyard.  It rains a lot more here than it ever did in Vegas, although I’ve been told it doesn’t rain much?  I dunno. 

We drove out on Thursday.  Got here on Friday night.  And have been super busy ever since.  I looked at about 10 apartments, and was disappointed with the majority of them.  They were so small!  It was almost like it was made for miniature people.  I went into one that had the tiniest closet.  If a person any taller than me wanted to go inside, they would have to duck.  And another one had a half-sized oven that they crammed in to fit the little baby kitchen.  Fortunately, I found one that I love.  It has vaulted ceilings and a balcony with a spectacular mountain view.

The rest of my time has been spent shopping.  There is so much stuff to buy.  I’m mostly excited about my furniture.  Except I won’t get any of it until the 22nd.  Yep.  Absolutely no furniture until then.  I’m glad I have a sleeping bag at least.  So yeah, no furniture and no internet or tv either, until next weekend.  So this will be the last night I’ll get to go on the internet for a while.  What will I do?  I’m feeling deprived already.  I guess I can use it at work.  Work.  I have barely even thought about that.  And I have no idea what it will be like.  But I’ll tell you all about it, in part 2 of the Albuquerque story. 

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Albuquerque Part 1:Living in New Mexico

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Albuquerque Part 1:Living in New Mexico at A chronicle of my world travels.

meta

