Job Update

June 15, 2008 § 2 Comments

Earlier in the week, my mom and I were working at the cottage and I got a phone call from the overly happy HR lady from New Mexico saying that she would like to extend me a job offer.  FINALLY.  On the inside, I was very excited, but I think I just replied with something stupid like “ok.”  But it didn’t really matter, she just kept on talking about start date, benefits, forms, blah blah, etc. etc. 

The next day, I got my confirmation letter and realized that I have to fill out about a bazillion forms  (Yes.  a bazillion) before I can start working.  This will be fun.  I suppose they have to determine whether or not I am a national threat (For the record, I am not.  I wouldn’t even know how to be if I wanted to), since I’ve never even actually met any of these people in person. 

It’s really weird how I got hired, actually.  Just a few days after I returned from my other interview in Houston (the ones who paid like a crapload of money for me to go down there and then never called me back), I got a call from the person who will now be my boss asking if I was still interested in the job.  Soon after that, I got another call from a guy in the Arizona office.  By the end of the week, I was their selected candidate for the job, which I found pretty strange, given my answers to some of their questions.  In a nutshell, this is kind of how it went (not verbatim):

-Do you know how to drive a stick shift?

-No.

-Have you ever done any field mapping?

-No.

-Okay you’re hired.

Seriously.  I mean I could be a crazy person for all they know.  But maybe they’re all a little crazy themselves.  Anyway… the point is I have my first real job. ev-ar. YAY.

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to Job Update

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Job Update at A chronicle of my world travels.

meta

