Girly Things

May 18, 2008 § 1 Comment

Being a young female in today’s society is hard work.  There are multiple skin and hair products, makeup, exercise routines, clothes… and that’s just the morning.  Once I have made myself physically presentable, I must subject myself to the daily judgment of others.  Not just my appearance, but every aspect of my being.  People can say they don’t judge, but they do.  I know I do.  I am constantly forming opinions, and not all of them are nice.  Not all of them are right either. 

I love gossip.  And I got my fair share of it from Vegas this weekend.  I like to hear about everything.  The good, the bad, and the ugly.  It makes me feel connected to what’s going on even when I’m not around.  That’s probably the worst thing about being here.  All my friends are… not here.  There are definitely things I like about being home, but I miss hanging out in the bar on Friday nights, spending lunchtime with the girls, going on field trips and sitting around the campfire at night… 

This may sound like something out of a cheesy girly movie, but have you ever been around someone who made you feel completely content with yourself, when everything was perfect and it didn’t matter what anyone else thought of you because, for that short amount of time, you were invincible?  I have, and I would love to get that feeling back.  My hope is that some day I’ll meet someone who will make me feel like that all the time.

Tagged:

§ One Response to Girly Things

  • hedder16 says:

    You want cheesy girly movie? How’s this… I also experienced that special someone who made me feel as if I was special. He made me feel safe and cared for, wanted and special. He made me feel as if I would spend the rest of my life with him, melting in his arms. The only problem was I couldn’t see his face. I woke up from the dream last week and have spent the last 7 days trying to put a face on him and figure out who this night in shining armour is!!!!
    Hopefully, we’ll both find a way to meet these guys soon !!!!!! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Girly Things at A chronicle of my world travels.

meta

