This Week’s News

April 6, 2008 § 1 Comment

I guess some kind of interesting stuff happened this week.  As you know, I got back from a job interview in Houston last Saturday, with mixed feelings about whether I would get the job or not.  Well… I haven’t heard back yet.

In the meantime, I got a couple phone calls from Albuquerque, NM, about a soil scientist position there.  Long story short, I was their top selection for the job, and they wanted me to make a commitment.  But here’s the catch, I wasn’t being “offered” the job yet.  Human Resources still has to determine my eligibility.  This really does not make sense to me, because it is my understanding that HR only gives the hiring manager resumes of the qualified candidates to begin with.  But maybe I’m wrong?  Anyway, I told him I wanted to think about it, and later that night I wrote him an email basically saying that I’m willing to make a commitment only if he is willing to make me an offer.

That was Friday night, so I haven’t heard back yet.  Hopefully I will by tomorrow.  I also hope that I hear from committee member #2, aka the picky one, about his approval of my last thesis changes.  I’m leaving for Vegas on Tuesday and I really hope that I’ll finish everything up with this trip.  No more loose ends.  Enough with it already.  I want to be done with my thesis so bad, I can taste it!

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to This Week’s News

  • Michelle says:

    Hey Maureen,
    Just a little note on the HR thing. HR has to approve any offer that they can make to you. Also, if it is a goverment position, i.e. USGS or any other government body, they have to do the make sure your not a terrorist thing. Good Job on telling them you’d give them an answer if they give you an offer. Good luck job hunting and hope you get the right job for you.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading This Week’s News at A chronicle of my world travels.

meta

